Saturday, April 6, 2024 at 8 p.m. 

Cornell Recital Hall

3201 Bur Oak Ave, Markham

Stravinsky’s Symphonies of Wind Instruments uses rhythmic, harmonic, and melodic devices reminiscent of The Rite of Spring, but is orchestrated for only wind instruments, and uses the plural form—Symphonies—not to denote the piece’s formal construction, but rather to invoke the broader term meaning ‘to sound together.’ Henry From then brings to life the same composer’s Concerto for Piano and Winds—a neo-Romantic work with unusual performing forces, since concerti were typically for a solo instrument and orchestra. In Paul Hindemith’s Konzertmusik the piano, harps, and winds appear to be odds with one another, with the former playing in a highly chromatic, atonal idiom, and the latter in a more melodic vein.

Kristian Alexander | conductor
Henry From | pianist

Include this concert in a subscription pack of 3 or more concerts and save up to 60%.

For more information, visit the KSO subscriptions page.


Stravinsky, Symphonies of wind instruments

Click here to view the notes.

Stravinsky, Concerto for piano and wind instruments

Click here to view the notes.

Hindemith, Konzertmuzik for piano, harps and brass

Click here to view the notes.

Tickets Pricing

General Admission – $30

General Admission – $25

General Admission – $20

Translate »