Saturday, December 9, 2023 at 8 p.m.

Flato Markham Theatre

171 Town Centre Blvd, Markham

The performance of Jonathan Crow is generously
sponsored by Judith Humphrey and Marc Egnal.

Stravinsky’s Circus polka, subtitled “For a Young Elephant”, was composed as a short ballet production for the Ringling Bros. and Barnum and Bailey’s “Greatest Show on Earth;” the ballet was originally performed by several young elephants in pink tutus! Concertmaster of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra Jonathan Crow takes the spotlight to perform Bartók’s Violin Concerto No. 2, whose second movement—a theme and variations—is an early example of a theme employing all twelve tones of the chromatic scale. For the grand finale, Bruckner’s Symphony No. 3 showcases a masterwork of virtuosic orchestral sound in a work that the young composer found inspiration and encouragement from Richard Wagner—although the Wagnerian allusions were revised out of later versions.

Kristian Alexander | conductor
Jonathan Crow | violinist
Daniel Vnukowski | host

7:00 p.m.    Silent auction in support of music education and the arts (closes after the intermission).
7:10 p.m.  
Prélude: pre-concert recital.
7:20 p.m.   Pre-concert talk.
Intermission discussion and Q&A with Jonathan Crow and Daniel Vnukowski.
Post-concert reception.

Include this concert in a subscription pack of 3 or more concerts and save up to 60%.
For more information, visit the KSO subscriptions page.

Stravinsky, Circus Polka: for a young elephant

Click here to view the notes.

Bartók, Concerto for violin and orchestra No. 2

Click here to view the notes.

Bruckner, Symphony No. 3 in D minor

Click here to view the notes.

Tickets Pricing

Box Seat – $40

Orchestra Centre – $38

Orchestra back/side – $35

Balcony – $30

Box Seat – $30

Orchestra Centre – $28.50

Orchestra back/side – $26.50

Balcony – $22.50

Box Seat – $20

Orchestra Centre – $19

Orchestra back/side – $17.50

Balcony – $15

Translate »